Cafe 300

IMG_4142

I’m lucky enough to work in a building that has a really good cafeteria on the bottom floor. It even has its own Yelp page with 3.5 stars! The food is significantly cheaper than if you were to eat out for lunch, and sometimes the portion sizes can be so crazy that you can split the meal into two.

There are six stations: Grains Bar, Sushi, Create, Grill, Wild Greens, Flavors, and Deli. I will almost always get my lunch from the Flavors station, but if I’m feeling something different I might get a salad or sushi. The only station I’ve never been to is the Deli – I’m not a big sandwich person. I’ve decided to give you a look at what you could get here in a typical week!

Monday: Teriyaki Glazed Salmon Fillet with Wild Rice Pilaf and Asparagus ($9.18)

IMG_4127

The salmon was really good with the teriyaki glaze. My coworker Justin would refuse to eat this because he insists that it’s farm-raised salmon, but I don’t think about that. The asparagus was also perfectly grilled with a little salt and pepper but not too much.

Tuesday: Build Your Own Burrito Bowl ($8.04)

IMG_4144

This usually comes in a tortilla instead of a plastic container, but that’s probably for the best. They have rice, beans, and different toppings and salsas for you to choose from. They also usually have a chicken tinga which is really good.

Wednesday: Tandoori Rubbed Flank Steak with Lentil Dal and Grilled Vegetables ($8.83)

IMG_4156

This is one that I ate half for lunch and half for dinner – economical! The steak was perfectly cooked and you could definitely taste the Indian flavoring of the tandoori, which I have never had on steak before. The lentils were just ok (I think all lentils are like this though).

Thursday: House Smoke BBQ Chicken and Pulled Pork with Smoked Gouda Mac & Cheese and Green Beans ($12.23)

IMG_4170

Barbeque Thursdays! I went a little overboard this day and asked for 2 meats and 2 sides (usually it’s just 1 meat with 1 or 2 sides) but I also saved half of this for dinner. The chicken is huge and well spiced while the pulled pork was flavorful and moist. And the mac and cheese was great. The only downside of barbeque from Cafe 300 is that I never love any of their sauces; I always ask for it on the side in case I don’t like it.

Friday: Green Dragon Roll with shrimp, salmon, crab salad & cucumber inside; salmon, unagi sauce, avocado and green onion on top ($9.93)

IMG_4174

Friday is a historically bad day at Cafe 300 for some reason; I never like what they have at the Flavors or Create stations. This day they had chicken & andouille gumbo at the Flavors station and I definitely didn’t want to eat that – I’m sure it’s nowhere near as good as even the gumbo served for lunch at my high school (which was pretty good). So I decided to get sushi, which is always a safe choice. Each roll is handmade after you order it so it’s not like the sushi you pick up at the grocery store, and the fish actually tastes pretty fresh. This roll in particular was pretty… wet. Lots of unagi sauce on it but it was still very good. My favorite rolls are the ones with crispy fried onions on the top.

IMG_4157

In the summer, it’s really nice to sit outside and get a break from the office. You get a great view along the river and can watch all the boats and kayakers go by. Just be sure to actually buy food from Cafe 300 if you sit at a table – you’ll get yelled at if you don’t!

Leave a Reply

