Lito’s Empanadas

IMG_4195

I’ve lived less than 200 feet away from Lito’s Empanadas for more than two years, but I have always avoided it for some reason and I don’t know why. In fact, it’s right next door to Del Seoul. Maybe it’s because no one is ever inside, but that’s probably due to there being very little seating (there are 6 stools lined up against the window).

One day, I decided to venture inside to try to get further along on my mission of trying every single eatery on Clark Street between Deming and Wrightwood (still not there – haven’t eaten at Frances’ Deli). There are 12 different empanadas to choose from, which includes a couple dessert ones. I chose the #4 (champinon chicken with chicken, cheese, tomato, sauteed mushrooms, and onion) and #5 (slow cooked BBQ chicken and potatoes). After less than 10 minutes, I had fresh empanadas to take home.

Each empanada says “Lito’s” on it, as you can see in the picture – cute! After two bites, I was thinking about how I have been missing out all this time by not trying these sooner. I loved the #4 and the #5 was pretty good too. They also come with a green hot sauce made with green chilis, onions, and cilantro and a delicious ketchup/mayo based sauce.

These were so good that two days later, I decided to get them again for dinner. This time I got three empanadas, the #4 again, and the #2 (beef and rice) and #8 (spinach, mozzarella, and onion).

IMG_4198

The #4 was just as good as it was the first time, and the spinach one was also very good. I wasn’t a huge fan of the beef and rice empanada – it was a little dry and bland for my taste.

I will definitely be back at Lito’s – it’s such a quick meal to get and did I mention it’s cheap!? Each of these are $2.99! Two empanadas are definitely enough to fill me up. Next time I’ll have to try the apple caramel with cinnamon sugar one – sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

