Zingerman’s Deli

For one last Ann Arbor dinner before I left for Chicago, my friend Jessica let me pick anywhere to eat in Ann Arbor.  I didn’t really want to go to Main Street… too expensive.  Jessica and my roommate Jill aren’t really the biggest meat eaters either, so I wanted somewhere with a bigger variety.  I also wanted something “special”.  Then it hit me… Zingerman’s Deli.  Zingerman’s is the total Ann Arbor experience and is known around the country.  Even though I went to school at Michigan, I didn’t really know about Zingerman’s until Oprah named the Lisa C’s Boisterous Brisket one of the best sandwiches in America.  If there’s a celebrity in town?  They’ll be seen at Zingerman’s.

Walking into Zingerman’s is awesome because it immediately smells like a deli. There are tons of cheeses and other deli foods like olives and smoked trout that they’ll let you try.  The menu is broken up into sandwiches with corned beef, chicken, turkey, pork, fish, beef, pastrami, or vegetarian, so it’s easy to have a starting point to work with since their menu is so huge.

While you wait for your food to be delivered to you, you can go into the Zingerman’s creamery next door to fill up your soda… I’m not sure if this is new, but they were all old school sodas from Boylan!  You can get different flavors of soda like cream, black cherry, orange, and root beer.  The creamery also has its famous gelato. I’ve never tried it because I’m always spending enough on my sandwich, but they look delicious!  I’ve heard good things about the ginger flavor.

I got the #23, Mary’s Commute, which is chicken salad with bacon on challah bread.  I really like the bread – it’s almost a little buttery and it’s easy to eat (I hate breads that are extremely hard and almost break your teeth).  And I love the bacon in this!  It’s thick and I even saved a little bit of it to eat by itself when I was done with my sandwich.  All the sandwiches come with a pickle, either traditional (more garlicky) or new (more cucumbery).  I’m not a pickle fan so I gave mine away, but I think the consensus is that the traditional one is definitely better.

Max and Jessica both got a #77, Jimmy Wants Rosemary’s Baby, which is ham, fresh mozzarella, and tomato.  I talked to Max about it the next day and he said it was good, but it was kind of a lot of mozzarella and not enough meat.

Jill got a Peter’s Peppered Pick, which is a BLT + turkey + ranch dressing.

The bad thing about Zingerman’s, and all of the Zingerman’s businesses, is that it is so expensive.  My sandwich + drink was $16.42 and I didn’t even get any leftovers to take home.  Once, I won a $50 gift certificate to Zingerman’s, and it lasted me one sandwich at the deli and one meal at the Roadhouse.  It’s also little more off campus than other places to eat, so that plus the cost makes coming to Zingerman’s a special occasion.  But everyone should visit at least once… it is definitely the #1 food related thing to do if you’re ever in Ann Arbor.

Leave a Reply

