Le Dog (Part 1)

It’s definitely NOT soup weather here in Ann Arbor, where it’s been 70 and sunny – there are a million runners on the streets and girls wearing short shorts to class as if we’re in South Beach.  However, this did not deter me from visiting my favorite lunch spot in AA – Le Dog.  While they do have hot dogs as its name suggests, they’re most known for their delicious soups.

Le Dog is based out of an extremely small, bright red booth on the corner of Thompson and E Liberty (there’s also an indoor location on Main St.).  It’s only open from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm Monday – Friday and takes cash only, so it’s not the most convenient place in the world.  Every weekday, there’s a rotating selection of around 7 to 8 soups so you never know what they’ll be offering, but there’s always something that sounds pretty good.  The soups are $6 or $7 and you can get a Zingerman’s pretzel roll or bread for another $1.

Thursday:


I wanted to try the Irish stew, but the pozole with hominy, pork, tortilla strips, avocado, lettuce, salsa, radish, and lime sounded delicious!  AND it’s only offered about 10 times a year?  I couldn’t pass that up!

This soup was actually a lot spicier than I had expected, but it was still really good.  It kind of tasted like a more spicy chicken tortilla soup.  The avocado was a nice touch, and I’m glad I didn’t wait very long to start eating the soup because the tortilla strips were still pretty crispy.  My only complaint was, of course, that there should have been a lot more pork.  At first I thought there was a lot of corn in it, and then I thought they were chickpeas,  but then I figured out that it was the hominy.  Hominy doesn’t really taste like anything, so it didn’t really bother me.

Friday:


On Friday, I went with my friend Max, who had never been to Le Dog before.  In addition to his cheesy chicken tortilla soup, he got one of the jumbo hot dogs… I’ve never gotten a hot dog here before.  Upon opening it up, he said, “Whoa, this really is a jumbo hot dog.”  He also said that “hot dogs are either really bad or normal, and this one’s normal,” so I guess that’s a good thing.

Lobster bisque is only offered on Thursdays and Fridays at Le Dog, so I knew I wanted to get the lobster bisque on Friday.  I was actually really pleased with the batch I got.  I’ve had it before where it’s had a little too much sherry, but this one had the right amount.  It also had a more than usual amount of lobster meat in it, which I was pretty happy about.

Stay tuned for the rest of my Le Dog adventures!

One response to “Le Dog (Part 1)

  1. thanks for posting bigger pictures, that makes all of the food look that much more delicious!

Leave a Reply

